Bag of Happiness in Bag O’Shrimps

My recent visit to Bag O’ Shrimps was a long overdue plan in my bucket list. Perhaps I was waiting for the right companions and timing, even if it is just near my office. Having the chance to share this moment with a friend who shares the same ultimate love for seafood, is but a perfect timing to fulfill that wish.

2

In a blog post, I confessed my strong love affair with shrimps. I love it as one of my comfort foods, since childhood. Thankfully, I have no allergic reactions to seafood, or else I would really feel totally deprived of enjoying one of the finest things on earth. Discovering a restaurant that is particularly devoted to shrimps, is perhaps one of the best things to enjoy as a seafood lover. And so to cut-off that anticipation, I dragged one of my best friends to Bag O’ Shrimps in Tuscany, McKinley Hill!

3

The interiors are simple, but cute. It’s nautical theme fills every nook and cranny with objects and signages related to a fisherman’s wharf, or those of seafood shacks in California.

9

12

The sailor theme was carefully executed in the ornaments such as nets, paddles and bouy, anchors, and even in a famous saying.

10

7
Spot on!

11

5

When we finally decided what our orders  would be, a white paper sheet was laid in front of us. That would serve as our dining plate so we all had the space to get messy with our boodle fight. We’re also given a steel bucket to throw in the shrimp peelings, plastic gloves and bibs to get geared for the huge mess we’re both ready to face ahead. I was not able to take photos of it since I immediately suited my hands with gloves.

menu 1.jpg
Menu from Zomato 

menu 3

menu2

For our appetizer, we ordered onion rings. We were supposed to take Dynamite Sticks  but it was unavailable at that time. I liked the batter of the onion rings, it was seasoned right and not too salty. The consistency of the crispness in every onion ring prods you to munch some more after the first bite. It was also a good side dish to complement our shrimps, giving us a variation and preventing us to get bored with the huge serving of shrimps in our lunch.

1
Onion Rings, Php 115

And the main star of the day arrived, 500g of Shrimps in Bag O’ Momma sauce. Aside from the fact that the spiciness level is set to mild ( I have low tolerance for spicy foods), I also heard it is one of the signature creations of the owner, herself. And it did not disappoint. The serving size was actually good for 2-3 people but since we’re both fans of shrimps, that was enough to satisfy the two of us. The fusion of spices, sweetness and other savory flavors drove us mad, craving for more cups of rice. (Okay, diet ruined here.) I even dripped the sauce to my heap of rice, mashed it my hands and that was an instant meal itself.

8
Bag O’ Momma with Corn, Php 655

There are also available sides to match your bag of shrimps, according to your preference. You may choose from corn and local and imported sausage. For us, corn was a good option. It added hint of sweetness to the spiciness overload.

13.jpg

With the party of spices and flavors in our mouth, it was best to cap off that loaded afternoon with cans of cold soda.

cath

So that was my first #BOSexperience. We’d definitely go back here, to try their other seafood offerings in the menu, and perhaps to dare ourselves step up from the spiciness level!

Bag O’ Shrimps

Ground Floor, Tuscany, Upper McKinley Rd, Taguig, 1634 Metro Manila

+63 9166233347
+63 9152685229

You may check their Facebook and Instagram for more details.

 

Leave a Reply

